What to expect from the EU UNESCO4ALL TOUR. Next Stops: the Alhambra Palace of Granada, Spain and the Rila Monastery in Sofia, Bulgaria

The EU UNESCO World Heritage Sites at the heart of the EU UNESCO4ALL TOUR

UNESCO WH sites are at the heart of the EU UNESCO4ALL TOUR travel packages. The tour will link 4 different EU Member States(Italy, Spain, Croatia and Bulgaria) and will walk you across outstanding UNESCO built WH sites – in particular churches, monasteries, cathedrals “spiritual” narrative logic binding them together and enabling the blind and visual impaired people to access them as never before. By transforming tactile models of artworks into speaking models, the experience is further enriched by the use of high-quality audio-guide for storytelling.

NEXT STOPS: the Alhambra Palace of Granada, Spain and the Rila Monastery in Sofia, Bulgaria!



The Alhambra is a palace and fortress complex located in the medieval part of Granada, Andalusia, Spain, and one of the sites included at UNESCO Worlds Heritage. The name Alhambra comes from an Arabic root which means “red or crimson castle”. It is the only surviving palatine city (a royal territorial center) of the Islamic Golden Age. It was created originally for military purposes in AD 889 on the remains of Roman fortifications, comprising three parts: “alcazaba” (fortress), an “alcázar” (palace) and a small “medina” (city). The complex is irregular in shape and surrounded by defensive walls. The Alhambra spans nearly 26 acres, with more than a mile of walls, 30 towers and numerous smaller structures.

The Alhambra of Granada was included on UNESCO World Heritage Committee on 1984, along with two other related sites: the Albaicín (or Albayzín) and the Generalife Garden. To be included on the WH list, sites must be of outstanding universal value and meet at least one out of ten selection criteria. The Alhambra observe three criteria:

Criteria (i) – to represent a masterpiece of human creative genius:

The Alhambra and Generalife contain artistic techniques of the Hispano-Muslin world, on the basis of a proportional system in which all decorative and building developments are based, with particular emphasis on the aesthetic value represented by the intelligent use of water and vegetation.

Criteria (iii) – to bear a unique or at least exceptional testimony to a cultural tradition or to a civilisation which is living or which has disappeared:

The materials used in the Alhambra and Generalife like plaster, wood and ceramics as decorative elements, together with the use of the Arabic epigraphy, made the construction into an ensemble of “talking architecture”. The ensemble is composed by contents of the religious, political and poetic world of the Nasrid Dynasty, preserved and enriched by the best examples of the humanistic and innovative art of the Spanish Renaissance.

Criteria (iv) – to be an outstanding example of a type of building, architectural or technological ensemble or landscape which illustrates (a) significant stage(s) in human history.

The Alhambra and Generalife bear exceptional testimony to Muslim Spain the 13th and 15th centuries. They form a remarkable example of the palatine residences of medieval Islam, neither destroyed nor changed by the vicissitudes of time, as with the examples in Maghreb.


Rila Monastery is located at 13000 meters altitude in the middle of the forests and peaks of Rila Mountain. It was first built and founded in the 10th century, in honour of the ascetic St. Ivan of Rila, who spent the last 20 years of his life praying in relative solitude at a cave four kilometres away. He chose to live in this way as a method of spiritual perfection and a way to express his protest against the suppression of the high moral rules of the real Christianity. The Bulgarian saint became the most respected saint in the Orthodox Christianity in that time. The monument symbolises the awareness of Slavic cultural identity following centuries of occupation.

The Rila Monastery was included on UNESCO World Heritage Committee on 1983. To be included on the WH list, sites must be of outstanding universal value and meet at least one out of ten selection criteria. The Cathedral observe one criteria:

Criteria (vi) – to be directly or tangibly associated with events or living traditions, with ideas, or with beliefs, with artistic and literary works of outstanding universal significance. (The Committee considers that this criterion should preferably be used in conjunction with other criteria);


Contact us via:

  • Marika Mazzi Boém – Coordinator (partnership and info)
    Senior Project Manager – X23 Srl
    Email: marika.mazzi.boem@x-23.org


  • Emek Ilmaz – Communication Manager
    Email: emekyilmaz@gmail.com


  • Fabio D’Agnano – WP4L (Tooteko Ring and Technology info)
    Team Leader – Tooteko Srl
    Email: fabio@tooteko.com

Follow us!

Facebook, Linkedin, Twitter, and Instagram.

Leave a Reply